Eternal Eclipse

Forum Index - Back to Your Own Fanfiction

Pages: 1

Elebot

Post #1
Hey, everyone! I'm new here, but I'm an aspiring writer looking for some criticism. I've been working on this fan fic for about three years now after having been inspired by The Quest for the Legends. I hope you enjoy my work, and I eagerly await your constructive remarks.

Prologue

The crisp nighttime sea breeze blew through the open windows of the tiny house on the hill making the crudely made curtains flutter. Inside of the house, a new mother in her late twenties sat in a rocking chair, rocking back and forth nervously. Beside the woman, her newborn child lay sleeping in a small, wooden cradle. A lone lamp was on in the house, casting shadows into the corners and crevices of the room. A frightful and scary scene; it was anything but uncommon anymore. She had no idea where he was. All she could do was sit and wait.

From another room a small clock chimed hauntingly signaling the start of the one o’clock hour. The woman’s heart began beating faster. He had been gone far too long. The latest he had ever gotten back was eleven thirty. She had to find out where he was. The woman rose up from the chair and rushed outside into the darkness. Down the hill, she could see that the small town was quiet and still. She knew she was about to disturb the peace of the night, but surely the citizens would understand how desperate she was to know where he was.

The woman reached to the belt around her waist and removed a firm golf ball-sized object. She pressed a button on the object, and it instantly grew to the size of a softball in her hand. The woman brought the object up to her mouth and held it with both hands.